1 Yr. Retirement Visa With 6 Mo. Remaining On Passport ?

What options is Immigration lilely to give me if I walk in and request a 1 yr. "Retirement visa", with approximately 6 mo. remaining on my current passport ?

- 1 yr. Visa, and transfer to new passport once I have it ?

- approx. 6 mo. Retirement Visa, with requirement for new "seasoning period" at the end of the 6 mo. ?

- outright refusal, with instructions to get a new pasport first, then come back ?

- other ?

I am a long-time Thai resident, presently on a Non-Immigrant "B". To the best of my knowledge, I meet all the normal requirements for a "Retirement Visa."

You will get the extension based on retirement without any problem, but only till the date yur passport expires. When you have a new passport, you go back to immigration to transfer the stamps to the new passport and at the same time they will give you the rest of the 1 year extension for free.

Do get a new passport ASAP. In case you want to travel, you will only cna go to your homecountry as most countries require at least 6 month validity to enter!

Two more questions in this context.

Assuming he will get his new passport. They will also cancel the old one but he will be able to show the old re-entry permit stamped in the old passport.

Question 1: Will they let him in on the old re-entry permit?

Question 2: Is there any certification needed for the new passport, should he decide to get a new passport thru embassy services within Thailand?