Law Question

Hi,

My and a ex thai partner opened a business a while ago, he got in an argue with the landlord and was not allowed to sign a new contract, i signed a new contract but a few month after the landlord decided to sell the lease so i was basiclly kicked out aswell.

Ex partner is know asking me for XXX amout of money, if not he will go to the court. I lost about twice as much as him so obviously wont give him a single bath!!!

Question is: Planning to visit a friend in cambodia, will there be any problems to exit thailand cos of this?

Thanks.

I'm not a lawyer. I'm a nice guy. But here's my two bahts worth anyway

"My and a ex thai partner opened a business a while ago, he got in an argue with the landlord and was not allowed to sign a new contract, i signed a new contract but a few month after the landlord decided to sell the lease so i was basiclly kicked out a swell."

I assume by "contract" you mean lease. You either have a lease or you don't. If the landlord sells the property he can't legally kick you out (unless there was provision made in the lease that gave him this right)

"Ex partner is know asking me for XXX amout of money, if not he will go to the court. I lost about twice as much as him so obviously wont give him a single bath!!!"

On what basis is he making this claim? civil or criminal or both?

"Question is: Planning to visit a friend in cambodia, will there be any problems to exit thailand cos of this?"

My response would be probably "no problem" but that is subject to the fact that you have only provided a few pieces of what might well be a much bigger picture. Clearly if you have cause for serious concern then consult a lawyer asap

Edited by ThailandInvestmentGuide

I'm not a lawyer. I'm a nice guy. But here's my two bahts worth anyway