Advice sought please on 69yr old moving to Thailand with Thai wife

Hi all,

At present we live in Sandhurst, Berkshire, UK. My Thai wife (31) and I (69) and no kids.

No doubt that most of my questions have been done to death before but as a newbie I really have no idea and need some sound information. I can make my own mind up - it's the information I just don't have.

I and my lovely wife intend to up and move to Thailand next year. We'll be selling the house here but it is only a little past neg equity so we won't realise more than £20 or £30k from the sale plus whatever we've already got. So we are far from rich. I am still working with the intention of boosting up my pension as far as I can.

Our intention is to stay with her family for a bit and look for a bit of land out in the sticks and build a simple home on it. We'll all eat on my pension - probably at poverty level but we will survive. We know we have to keep 400,000 in a Thai bank in my name for 2 months for a visa, and are planning to keep that amount as a minimum to keep on getting the visa. We've gleaned that bit from reading the posts here.

So first question is: what visa can I apply for in the UK and for what initial period? Can we get a 1 year one straight away for me? And what is it called?

2nd question - our belongings. We'd ideally like to take everything, figuring that on balance sending everything is possibly cheaper than starting over. Now I know the household effects go in my wife's name, so no tax, but is my stuff taxable? For instance - I have a load of (mostly over 25yrs old) tools, electric saw, drills, jig saw, compressor, tools, generators and the like I'd love to send out. Value is very little given they are all so old but working but what about VAT or import tax on tools? Can someone advise?