HELP! Investment advice please!

Can I ask a previous question in a slightly different way?

I am from UK, aged 54, moving to Thailand on a Retirement Visa and have 200,000 pounds in a UK bank account.
My accommodation and food are covered in Thailand but my pension will not pay out for another 11 years so the 200,000 pounds must cover all other expenses. There's no Thai girlfriend or wife (nor likely to be!).

Does anyone have any investment advice as to what to do with this sum?

As you can tell, I am a novice at this but want to be best prepared. Thanks for any and all
practical advice!

Thank you,
John

• Like 1

...but if I was you I'd by a property here in England with it, live of the rental income for 11 years then sell the property which will increase in value and make more profit...

Renting property out is not without risk. One bad tenant can wipe out profit in an instant and for some considerable time and could cost you your own money. You just never know.

Otherwise property is not a bad longterm investment, just don't expect to predict future market forces successfully and the value of so called tenants.

• Like 2

Invest in Blue Chip UK companies. You could expect a return of 3 to 7 percent on selected companies which would give you an income of about 10,000 GBP per annum.

You should aim to build up a portfolio of 20 companies at least, as in the past year or so some highly rated dividend payers have had to substantially reduce/cut their dividends (e.g. Tesco).

If you can live on 10,000 GBP a year you will have an increasing dividend stream for life.

Check out the Motley Fool for one source of advice, but be aware that once you become non-resident of the UK you not be able to use UK based brokers for your investments.