Working Without Permit

With the ever changing laws getting stricter and stricter (I recently heard that Thaksin wants only Thai nationals teaching English) I am worried that my permit may not be granted upon my return to the kingdom next month. A company have agreed to take me upon a reccommendation but I've said i'll only work if they can get me a permit.

I am aware that many teach without a permit as I have done in other countries. I am a good teacher for the level I teach and have lots of experience with kids.

I don't have a degree - only good English GCSE's a National Diploma in Performing arts and a TEFL intro certificate. I know a bloke who's very shy and crap with kids who has never travelled but he could teach legally as he's got a degree in farmyard mechanics!

The other stupid thing is that there is a massive demand for English teachers as many are leaving due to the harsh rules and the teachers that exist already have classes of up to 50 kids to cope with! I can't spend 4 years of my life obtaining a degree just so I can legally sing "Head, shoulders knees & toes" and hold up flashcards to a gaggle of toddlers. I'm already 30 and I want to settle in some sort of career.

Anyway, say I don't get granted a permit - what am I risking if I still decide to teach?

A big fine?

Deportation?

Bang Kwang?

Your help and advice is both respected and appreciated.

Are English teachers really being forced out by new regs in Thailand? I don't see it, haven't heard about it at all, except via rumor on this forum. I've several acquaintances in Thailand who teach English, all are happily employed. None have had any problems renewing their work permits this year. We'll see what happens after the new income regs come into effect.