Internet Back Up Plan Required

Will27

Currently have 3bb cable.

It was down for about 7 hours on Saturday.

The techs said something had eaten through the wiring.

Also get power cuts in the village quite often.

I would like to get something I could use when 3bb is down or the power is off.

Doesn't have to be super quick or anything.

Would just need it for emails, phone calls and to check on sports scores.

I don't have a smart phone but do have a tablet which can take a sim card.

Would it be better just to get a sim for about 300 per month or something like this from AIS?

https://translate.google.com.au/translate?hl=en&sl=th&u=https://store.ais.co.th/th/ais-4g-hi-speed-pocket-wifi.html&prev=search&pto=aue

I'm not tech savvy and would appreciate any advice.

TIA

3 minutes ago, Pi Tao said:

Internet on phone, day by day, 17 bahts, AIS.

Put your sim card in tablet.

Just get the cheapest sim and put 20 baht on it every few months so they don't cancel it. Also keep the tablet charged up. When the power goes off here I just use my laptop which obviously has a battery, and switch over to the phone's mobile internet hotspot, very easy.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

39 minutes ago, Will27 said:

I would like to get something I could use when 3bb is down or the power is off.

I don't have a smart phone but do have a tablet which can take a sim card.

Just get a SIM for the tablet and make a wifi hotspot from the tablet for your internet devices. No need to pay for monthly SIMs if you just need a back up for the cable going down? I do the same up country and pay for internet access by the day on the SIM, could be as cheap as 9THB. Pay more for faster unlimited daily speeds. The SIM will have an app to pick and choose data plans.

• Thanks 1

1.  UPS will not help circuit outages - but indeed well worth the price for normal short power outage and saving data/equipment.