Large centipede

sandyf

4 minutes ago, sezze said:

Yes and your question is ?

They are very common in Thailand and yes they are the ones to avoid by all means . Their bite/sting is very painful . They are called centipedes , check internet plenty of source .

Yes, can testify to that .. got bitten on the ankle once. 

• Like 1

Avoid those things & the bites which apart from being extremely painful can get infected very badly.

If a small child is bitten then I would recommend bringing them in for treatment immediately, I think they give an anti-histimine shot for this but I'm no expert.

It one of the things Thais or even the Issan lot won't eat.

I'm also surprised that they don't eat pigeons but they will eat rat although that would the country cousin rat rather than the city sewer rat.

• Like 1

12 minutes ago, patekatek said:

Here are a couple photos of one of the larger centipedes found around my home in Kaeng Krachan.  It took awhile but I was able to tame this one.  Okay, maybe that's a bit of an exaggeration.  It had actually drowned in my pool.

I was bitten on the thumb ( I had thick leather gloves on at the time) by one about 1/2 the size of the one on my arm.  Took about one hour for the pain to go away.  However, my thumb felt bruised for a couple days after the bite.

Stay safe!

centipede on arm.JPG

centipede head and fangs.JPG

Wow! Good size specimen! But funny how they drown quite easily but if you try to do it yourself they seem almost indestructible !

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

44 minutes ago, patekatek said:

Okay, maybe that's a bit of an exaggeration.  It had actually drowned in my pool.

Yeah I had that happen, I suspect my cat worried it into the pool. Had I seen it alive and crawling I might still be running.......

• Like 2

4 hours ago, patekatek said: