Considering installing Solar.

Hi

I am at the moment; considering installing some solar to offset our ever increasing electric bills.

I can't fit that many panels maybe 2.7kw or so but every little helps.

I see Sofar make a 3.3kw plug and play grid tie inverter.

Would this along with the associated safety switching be suitable for such a project?

I might add I'm a complete novice when it comes to solar but a competent DIYer. 

Thanks for any advice.

PR3.

Thanks for the guidance Gents.

I have been following the various forum threads going on at the moment in an attempt to garner a little knowledge and to decide what to do.

I'll try create a little clearer picture of what I'm up against.

We do have a large roof but the house is 2 floor and I'd much rather have the panels in a place I can keep an eye on them. 

Biggest problem regarding positioning is the unfortunate fact that I have no easy accessible (low down) roof space on the East or South side.

Which leaves me with my intended (at this point) installation site which is above the driveway.

The area will fit approx 2.7kw of panels possibly more.

6 x 455w comfortably maybe 7 at a push.

Our current usage is circa 1000 kwh per month or which the majority is used at night time.

The idea currently is to contribute to the load rather than mitigate it altogether; also not starting with the intention of net metering but if it happens ill have to install a means of stopping export on meter reading days.

There's a local electrical store here (Khon Kaen) that are having an offer on solar panels at the moment.

They're selling 455w mono half cuts for 4600 baht. Or 390w version for 3800 baht.

I've never heard of BQ Solartech though, does anyone have any experience with or knowledge of them?

Thanks 

PR3

Yes I have to agree and I fully understand why it would seem a little pointless given the info i provided.

I don't really have the spare money or room to install an all singing all dancing system.