Should I have hernia done in private or public hospital

ubonr1971

3 weeks ago I lifted something heavy and then later noticed a hernia on one side of my groin. 

I visited a private hospital who said hernia laparoscopic surgery is the gold standard. It uses the mesh. Package price advertised 200k baht. Hospital later called me to say the dr 'estimated' the price to be just shy of 300k. 

I am an ex govt teacher and paying the 400 thb a month giving me entitlement to the local public hospital. I havent visited there yet. Wondering if they use the mesh method or not and is it the old open surgery where I will have a big scar to look at down there for the rest of my life?

I once had a colonoscopy done at a public hospital. Complete nightmare. They made me stay for 2 days. As soon as I arrived they put a drip in my arm. I was thinking what am I in for here. But it was cheap but 3rd world experience....  In private hospital is a standard day procedure. 

If you have ever had hernia surgery at a public hospital can you let me know your experience. 

• Like 1

There are some, but not every, public hospitals that offer newer standards of hernia repair. You can visit and discuss with them to see if they have such options available. The 300k laparoscopic option isn't going anywhere anytime soon.

• Like 1

2 hours ago, ubonr1971 said:

If you have ever had hernia surgery at a public hospital can you let me know your experience. 

Three years ago had open mesh inguinal hernia surgery at a  private hospital in khonKaen was a two night stay the only real scar was to my wallet 55k baht! ......seriously would really struggle to see the tiniest evidence of the surgery. 

Noticed as part of their promotions 9 months ago they were discounting all surgery and the standard inguinal hernia package was now only 35k.