Rental Values For Condo's In Pattaya ?

thaijasmine

I have been renting the same condo for the last 2 years but this morning

I overheard an owner doing a hard sell job ( amazing when you think its

not long before the high season starts ) with a potential tenant to take another

another condo in my building at 25% less than what I am paying? :)

I hadnt really stopped to think if the downturn would lead to owners cutting rents

by as much as this?

Has anyone else achieved these kind of discounts staying here long term ?

We rented in view talay b in 2001 for 9000 a month ,my friend moved in when we moved out 9 months later, he is still there and has just moved to another bigger one in the same building for the same price,.we moved into a house and the landlord has dropped the rent price 2 times in 2 years when we threatened to leave, to buy to live in thailand is fine, for investment ?, dosent seem too good to me,. :)

Edited by imaneggspurt

Yes, in general terms, rental values have fallen. Most tenants who are looking to re-new their old lease are looking for quite significant discounts, often in the 20-25% range.

I just mentioned this to the owner ( because I am no longer tied to a lease here )

I just pay month to month. His reaction was he didnt charge a high rent

during the peak times and so there is no justification for him to lower the rent

now. :D The trouble is he is glued to the stock market and so he reckons

everything is rosy again because the SET is so strong :) so its hard to argue with him that you

cant measure the real economy like that. I dont really want to move

but I will do if i think I am paying through the nose.

I need to to get some hard evidence of leases being renewed

at the range you are suggesting.

I would suggest a couple of things;

1. Check out the notice board in your building or building office to see what rental units are asking/achieving.