Transformer, How To Get 110w/60 Cycle ?

mario299

Hi all

I'm no electrician, so need a little help. Have boat coming in about a month with many of my tools from America, such as cordless tools that need battery charge. Am currently building a work-shop and want to have part of electricity transformed from Thai 220W at 50 cycle to 110W/60 cycle so I can use my American tools, how and where do I get a transformer here, and approximate cost ?? (Surin area, but happy to travel if needed).

Anyone out there has done this already ?? Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks much

Mario :)

You can readily get a transformer to go from 220V to 110V but it won't change the frequency. Pretty much any mom-and-pop electrical emporia will be able to supply in various sizes, make sure you get one of adequate rating.

Changing 50Hz to 60Hz (Hertz is the correct designation, using Cycles will confuse local techs) is considerably more difficult, you'll need a static or rotating inverter. Available but not going to be a cheap item (can't help with prices, I come from a 50Hz country).

Simple things like the chargers for your cordless tools will likely be happy on 110V 50Hz from a transformer, or you may be able to get 220V 50Hz chargers anyway if the tools are big-name.

Anything with mains motors may run slow and could overheat on 50Hz although at the low duty-cycle that most DIY tools experience there's likely to be little problem. Best idea would be to try the kit with a simple transformer of adequate rating and see how it goes before hunting down a 60Hz inverter.

Your biggest issue will be locals who 'borrow' your tools. The Thai plug is the same as the US they'll plug your 110V tools into a 220V outlet, result smoke and tears :)

General advice here, unless you have really high end kit, is to leave/sell in the US and buy locally.