Buying Old Cbr 400 Or Cb 400

kamluan

i really want to buy a 400 cc bike,a starter bike,

but i can not afford it to pay it in one time ,of course i could pay 30.000 first time,but after that i would pay montly payments.

I am looking for a 60.000 bath bike,

can i sucseed in finding this in pattaya and where i need to look?

At the kawa shop i could pay 50.000 and montly payments of 5000 bath....but i am looking for something cheaper and not new as i am a newbie,and rent a kawa ninja 250 almost 2 weekends every month..

Any suggestions?a good used starter bike preference 400cc,

kind regards

kamluan

Be aware that if you buy a cheap, old cb/cbr400 with all your budget, after a week or so it's likely to sit outside your house until you can afford to get it fixed.

Many end up with 400cc money pits.

Buying with your head instead of your heart isn't easy, but there isn't many options for 50,000thb besides 150s that are reliable and easy to fix up here. Many of the old imports will have been run ragged and poorly maintained (if maintained at all) and fitted with cheap local imitation parts by the locals. Sure there will be exceptions to the rule but I'd personally think quite hard about spending all your budget on one of these if you need a reliable bike.

Edited by hehehoho

I was lucky and found a Yamaha Virago 535 with the all important green book but I was looking on and off for about 6 months before I found it.

It needed some work done on it and as with most older bigger bikes there is no dealer support so you will need a good local mechanic to get spares and keep it on the road.

There is a guy in Nakhon Sawan that I go to and he has a few old bikes but NO green books with them or I would have bought something from him.

I have seen some beautiful bikes on Tarad.com but no green books to go with them.

Keep looking and you will be lucky.