Visa panic setting in....

Okay... I have read all the posts concerning the new visa rules that are in force now and seem to be coming on August 12 and now my visa concerns are reaching the panic stage. I say panic only because I am confused, worried and really have no idea what the state may be when I enter Swampy around the 18th of August this year from the US.

Okay... this is 'me':

• I do NOT need to work. That is to say I really don't need to but would if there was an offer to teach, lecture, or be of help. My funds come from investments I do not really keep a great deal of money in a bank account... just enough to pay my way.
  • I worked in the motion picture industry for over 28 years in NYC and LA.
  • I am 57 with no criminal record.
  • I am not married and my 2 children live in the US with their mother and I see them every major holiday (school vacation times sort of curtail those times) and I really want to live in Thai for as long as I can.
  • I have traveled to Thai for the past 3 years now spending about 7 months per usually in a Double Entry Tourist visa (with the usual 30-day extensions) and at times on Visa Exempt 30-day stamps with no problems at all. I have had a good number of the latter over that time going back to when we only got 15-days at a land crossing. But always keeping within the rules of the time.
  • All of those stamps, etc., are in my OLD passport. I now have a new one (new number) with NO stamps at all in it and am planning on going to the Thai Consulate here in LA for a new Double Entry 60-day though a local agent (whom I have used before). This new passport is a due to having my old one renewed just to be clear..... forgot that detail..