U.S.Visa

Prior to the 1 st visit we had rehearsed 10-12 questions that US immigration might ask   Of course she was nervous, her 1 st time in front of a US official . They chit chatted for a moment in Thai then the officer asked my wife how long she had known me, her husband. My wife took it as how long we were married not how long we had been together and replied 8 months. That was the end of the interview. The officer said my did not know me long enough.

On the 2nd interview 45 days later my wife was not nervous.  We had gone over MY personal history extensively. My middle name, my birthday,  kids names, what I did for a living  before I retired.  Whatever I could tell her about myself.

So she goes into the interview very confident. The officer asked again how long have you known your husband.  This time she says I know my husband long time and we have  been married almost 1 year. The agent continued to ask questions about me and she had the answers.

What they are trying to determine is if this is a true relationship or a scam. If your wife knows your personal history she has a good chance of getting the U S visa.

Just my personal experience 

• Like 1

Bruce

Thanks, and good on her, your wife for being confident.

Another couple of Qs:

--  Did the interviewing officer ask what your visa status is here in Thailand, eg, retired, working, etc?

--  Did your wife take along your passport to show your status here?  I usually advise this and to pull it out right at the beginning of the interview.

Have a good trip!

Mac

• Like 1

Good question, no to both because she brought with  her a stack of documents about 1 1/2 inches thick pertaining to everything about me that he kept thumbing thru as they spoke. The officer also had his computer open and kept checking on what info my wife was giving him. Not that he was indifferent  because my wife said he was very pleasant to her. Just doing his job I guess. She said they spoke in Thai thru out the interview