No coup under my command: new Army chief Chalermchai

webfact

NEW ARMY COMMANDER IN CHIEF

No coup under my command: new Army chief Chalermchai

THE NATION 

30296811-01_big.jpg

Chalermchai (L)

BANGKOK: -- THE NEW HEAD of the Army, General Chalermchai Sittisart, said yesterday that the army would not stage a coup under his leadership.

"I am a professional soldier, and I follow orders from my superiors. I can confirm that there will be no coup, so there should be no concern about me," he said.

Any government that rules with integrity is unlikely to be overthrown by the military, as the coup-makers would have no good reason to justify their action, he said. 

Full story: http://www.nationmultimedia.com/politics/No-coup-under-my-command-new-Army-chief-Chalermcha-30296811.html

thenation_logo.jpg
-- © Copyright The Nation 2016-10-04

Does that mean the current rule will stay in place at least until the end of his appointed term? :passifier:

No reason for him to run a coup on the coup that got him this job eh?

Edited by HoboKay

Of course the headline misses the critical caveat: "Any government that rules with integrity is unlikely to be overthrown by the military, as the coup-makers would have no good reason to justify their action, he said."

21 minutes ago, jamesbrock said:

Of course the headline misses the critical caveat: "Any government that rules with integrity is unlikely to be overthrown by the military, as the coup-makers would have no good reason to justify their action, he said."

Again, not yet.

So, he gives us the assurance that, "...I am a professional soldier, and I follow orders from my superiors. I can confirm that there will be no coup, so there should be no concern about me..."

LyingFingersCross_I_swear_4721.png

But, he added the caveat, "...Any government that rules with integrity is unlikely to be overthrown by the military, as the coup-makers would have no good reason to justify their action..."

1 minute ago, NongKhaiKid said: