The legalities of being a digital nomad?

Hi all.

I'll be in Thailand for 2 months next month. I'm a contract software engineer, and can work from anywhere.

My plan is to take a week off, and then pretty much back to work i.e. 40 hour week.

I like the idea of using shared office space (rather than setting up, and spending all day in my apartment).

As these are public buildings, I'm a little concerned as to the legalities of working remotely while in Thailand. 

So...is is technically illegal doing what I do?, does anybody care?, etc.

Many thanks

1 hour ago, BritTim said:

There are co-working spaces all over Thailand. According to the letter of the outdated Alien Employment Act, working as a digital nomad would not be allowed. It is quite clear that, at this stage, it is tolerated. There are thousands of digital nomads in Thailand, and they are left alone. Stay abreast of future developments, but for the moment you will be fine.

The Alien Employment Act does not apply to the OP as he is not being employed by a company legally to operating in Thailand. There is nothing in the Alien Employment Act stopping a DN being employed by a company in Thailand. It is the Immigration Act that stops DN's from working at their occupation in Thailand without permission.

Edited by elviajero

7 hours ago, BuddyDean said:

Workspace is a bad idea.  Spend the money on a bigger place.  The DNs are visa running losers.  Those making good money online, keep it close to the vest.

If you knew how much some of them made i'm sure you wouldn't be calling them losers,

• Like 1

9 hours ago, Happy enough said: