The next bike...

Inexperienced rider here looking to upgrade.

I’ve been driving cars in Thailand for over 15 years, primarily in Bangkok, with visits all over Thailand - I’m fairly well versed in Thai traffic and the silly stuff. 

I’ve been riding a 155cc scooter around Bangkok for the past year and have found it extremely convenient and enjoyable.

I am now looking to ‘step up’ a little with a machine which is fairly city friendly but also ideal for a weekend trip away in a group. 

I’ve singled out the BMW G310GS, I’ve sat on it, it fits, I like it.

its a 313cc Cingle cylinder machine, good abs brembo brakes etc... nothing too powerful I think it’s 37hp.

I’m not used to gears on bikes having not ridden a geared bike for over 20 years. The dealership would be happy to give me lessons. 

Any advice & thoughts from the experienced hands? 

I'm still thinking of the bmw scooter...i really love the automatic gears and would never buy anything without it.

The problem with a 300cc is that you can't park it in the guarded parkinglot for big bikes since it has to be above 500cc....

My problem is that my new helmet don't fit in a scooter, i tried to new Forza but nope don't fit....(it's a jethelmet though)....

So í'm also searching for a new scooter now and still don't know what to buy but sure i need automatic gears...and not too big cause i like to cross in between cars.

• Like 1

How about a Honda NC750s ?Honda reliability/dealer back-up. No gears as DCT version is available and a good touring bike too.

It’s also got a’false’ tank’ that has a (Helmet) storage space.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Like 1

The lack of storage is an issue...

On my current scooter I’ve found it easy to nip out to the shops to grab groseries and carry them back under the seat, leaving the helmet under the seat is very convenient.

This lack of storage would be an inconvenience.