I cant decide if I should take out health insurance via a life ins policy

bbabythai

Im fast approaching the big 50. My wife has a life insurance policy and would you believe she pays 240,000 a year premium. I think its 3mill payout if she dies. Private hospital cover for situations when she is admitted. But say she breaks a leg and spends a day in hospital and goes home that day then its not covered. 

The only positive thing about her policy is that if something serious does happen and she is admitted then we will get the money back via the insurance. 

I suppose Im concerned about having something serious myself and say for example Im in a private hospital and my wife has to come up with a million baht or more (eg stroke) because I dont have insurance. We dont have joint bank accounts....  I have some funds back home but could be logistical nightmare if I cant send it etc. 

For the record I was a teacher at a govt school and am paying the 400 a month and have access to the big hospital here via the SS system. I tried it a few times and unsure of the quality. I found the drs a bit second rate and the inside of the hospital is quite old looking. 

Thus, I thought about taking out a life ins policy with a low payout eg 50,000 for the sole purposes of getting private health cover. 

Or is it possible to get private health cover direct? Whats the best option do you think in Thailand?

thanks

The above answer is correct in many ways I would think your wife has life cover + health cover the life cover she has is a smaller life cover + savings.

These sort of policies are old style that I sold over 20+ years ago.