PHD Benefit

Hello Friends,

I have a Bachelor's Degree in Business and I'm currently taking a Master's Degree in a business related field as well in my home country (USA).

However, I'm debating taking a PHD in Educational Leadership after I finish the Master's Degree so I can pivot into an international teaching role and live with my wife in Thailand.

My question is, will having a PHD in Edu help me at all in Thailand or is it fairly non-value-added?  I will of course get the teacher certification in my home country before coming over, I just want to be in good standing to get a decent gig when my Thai wife and I are able to move back to Thailand.  We are looking to leave the USA with-in the next 5 years or so.  Do Thai schools even care about anything beyond a Master's?

Thanks for any information.

A PhD is a must for teaching university, however, a real teacher qualification and experience will get you into an international school.

Business is a bit of a useless subject for schools but popular at university.  Universities do not pay well whereas international  schools generally  pay the best.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Thank you all very much for the replies thus far.  It seems it is advised to:

1. Finish the Master's Degree.
  2. Attain a Teaching License/Certification in the USA.
  3. Get some teaching experience in the interim.

Would you advise to also complete one of those TEFL courses or are those largely gimmicks?  My goal would be to teach ESL at an International School.

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

OP, if you are a NES with all that educational luggage, you can get whatever teaching position you want in Thailand. I guess you are relatively young, too, which generally is a big plus to schools as well. To me, there seems nothing to be discussed, here. There is no question. Just finish whatever you want to finish there in USA and then come here and enjoy life. It will all be fine for you, job-wisely ????

• Thanks 1

4 hours ago, OumarhindaOunsingha said: