Set up Home VPN or use third party - China

Brickleberry

18 minutes ago, KannikaP said:

Only certain routers allow VPNs to be installed directly on them according to Express.

Is the family member taking your router to China? 

No, I was thinking I could set up a VPN server on my router here, and they could tunnel their traffic through it? I'm not an IT expert, so I'm not sure if it would work this way.

• Confused 2

I have online lessons daily with my students in all regions of China, typically 10 lessons a day.  Most students use Zoom, some use Zhumu, 1 uses Voov.  None of them use a VPN and we have no issues about the internet connection.  The only time that they would need to use a VPN is to access Youtube, Google Search etc which are blocked in China

4 minutes ago, Pouatchee said:

A couple years ago here we weren't allowed to discuss vpn's

And only 9 months ago we were not allowed to buy, sell or indulge in Cannabis.

Times change. VPNs are everywhere now, as is cannabis!

• Like 1

I worked in China for years, accessing external internet with ExpressVPN.  Excellent customer service, hundreds of international servers, with constant updates to keep track of Great Firewall software changes.  Your account can be used by up to three devices simultaneously.  Load the mobile app to use in cafes and shops.

VPN's aren't illegal in China, but they aren't encouraged either.  Businesses need a VPN to function, and have to apply for permits.  Regular folks don't fall under that rule.  VPN's until recently were advertised on Taobao.  No longer offered there, but it's easy enough to download software, even within China.  Would be advisable to set up the laptop before leaving to have it running properly.