Where Do I Go For Sound Advice

Hi folks. I am a newbie to Thai Visa and I am hoping some of the more experienced UK expats can give me some sound advice. I have been to Thailand a few times in the last 3 years and I intend to go back in April next year for Songkran. Yes, I have fallen for a lovely Thai woman and I am thinking about spending more time in the country. It seems to me that it is pretty hard to obtain a Thai visa and without one, buying property and opening up bank accounts seems almost impossible depending on who you talk to. Can anyone recommend a good English speaking lawyer in Bangkok that I can visit when I go out next and get advice on visas, property ownership, setting up a company etc. etc.

Your advice on this minefield is greatly appreciated.

Unless you are 50 or over your only option is tourist visas or going to school and getting an extension of stay.

You can open a bank account with a tourist visa or even with an exempt entry. You may have to go to more than one bank to open it.

Sunbelt Asia is a sponsor of this forum you could contact them.

whistling.gif It's not that difficult to get a single entry visa ..... you don't say waht country your from, but I'll just assume it's the U.k. (they seem to be the majority in those who don't know how to get visas from a thai consulate, so i'll assume you are a Brit).

Unless you have a criminal record (which you probably don't or you wouldn't have been allowed into Thailand your first time).

Anyhow you very likely will be able to get at least a single entry tourist visa to Thailand by going to a Thai consulate .... whichever one is nearest to you.

That single entry tourist visa can be extended for another 30 days at immigration in Thailand .... wherever your staying.... for a 1900 Baht fee for the extension.

The 60 days you get on entry with that visa and the 30 day extension in Thailand you get will give you a 90 day stay in Thailand.