Taxi Jomtien -> Which Starting Time, Which Service?

henrik2000

Hello, i need a taxi from Jomtien to Don Meuang airport. The flight starts on a weekday at 14:00 with Nok Air. I wonder about the starting time in Jomtien and about the place to book the taxi.

My guesthouse does not do taxi bookings, but a few outlets in my soi offer taxi bookings. The simplest car is enough for me (1 pax + reg. luggage).

My idea is to book at an outlet close to my guesthouse, because they will feel responsible and will be approachable if the taxi isn't there on time (and they can describe the exact location of my guesthouse)(which is not difficult). This means i would not book with a service online or an office further away, even if that would save 100 Baht. Is that a good policy?

Next question what time to start in Jomtien? I really dislike downtime at the airport, but then i don't want to miss the plane. I have no experience on this route, but i have experience with services offering airport taxis - they suggest a very very early starting time, so you will be there much too early and they will not get complaints about late arrival.

What would be a realistic starting time in Jomtien? Of course i want the taxi to take the tollway and will pay for this. I guess it's included anyway.

Thanks for your ideas!

PS.

Sorry, the missing word "Don Meuang" obviously cannot be added any more to the headline.

Edited by henrik2000

I suggest you use the bus instead. The bus which departs from Jomtien bus station leaves every hour (travel time 2 hrs.) and terminates at Suwanaphum Airport. You can make an advance reservation up to 2 days in advance. From Suwanaphum, I understand there is now a shuttle bus to Don Meuang Airport. I have never used this myself, so don't know the frequency of service. I would guess the travel time to be about 1 hr. You might search online, or wait for others to reply here.

A lot cheaper, and no worries about taxi drivers not appearing on time.