Don't want W10 update

Bredbury Blue

On my laptop I have the W10 update icon that keeps popping up and asking me to activate an update of my computer to W10. It's an old laptop which still works well on W7 and I don't want to mistakenly activate the update. Is it possible to get rid of the W10 update icon and/or confirm that I don't want to update?

Ps. On a client's desktop I was using for a few weeks I mistakenly activated the W10 update and yes it fully updated...oops.

I'd just upgrade the bloody thing but that's just me. I've had no bad experiences upgrading or using Win 10, and problems are on the whole quite rare (although those that experience them are naturally vociferous!).

Download the Gwx control panel.

GWX Control Panel is a free program that you can use to configure and exit the “Get Windows 10” system tray application which continually pops up on PCs still running Windows 7/8.

http://ultimateoutsider.com/downloads/

http://www.techspot.com/downloads/6756-.html

http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/gwx_control_panel.html

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5pcmDTDRGgA

I'm duel booting Win 7 & 10 (and several flavors of Linux on Virtualbox and VMware) and I like 7 myself.

Edited by Pakaty

whistling.gif Yes, I finally managed to get that annoying thing to give up and stop nagging me to download windows 10. it took me about 6 months, including changing my windows update download "status" to DO NOT send me further updates f rom Microsoft.

After at least 4 months of not accepting automatic updates from Microsoft, they apparently gave up.

Now I can select my own windows updates and ignore all those I do not want.

I run windows 8.1, single language version..

Edited by IMA_FARANG

I would use this to stop the automatic update and nag screens.

http://lifehacker.com/never10-prevents-windows-7-and-8-1-from-automatically-u-1767969681

This is simple and from one of the most respected sources Gibson Research