3 tourist visa in the same year?

Hi all.

I've spent 6 months in Thailand this year. 2 tourist visas + extensions. In between these visas I was back in my home country for 2 months.

I'm going back home again this week, and plan to come back to Thailand in december on another tv.

Before this year I hadn't been to Thailand for 4 years.

With the toughening stance Thai immigration seem to be taking, should I expect any problems?

(btw, I'm a contract software engineer. I can work from anywhere)

I've done similar, the fact that you are entering from the home country is a plus. If you are entering via the Bangkok International airport I reckon you'll be fine. I used to do 3 months then spend a month or so somewhere else, then go back. I never had an issue.

I'll be interested to read if anyone has had a different experience.

21 hours ago, mockingbird said:

I've spent 6 months in Thailand this year. 2 tourist visas + extensions. In between these visas I was back in my home country for 2 months.

I'm going back home again this week, and plan to come back to Thailand in december on another tv.

Before this year I hadn't been to Thailand for 4 years.

With the toughening stance Thai immigration seem to be taking, should I expect any problems?

Some IOs at Bangkok airports have been citing a "180 day rule".  It doesn't exist in any written form, but those IOs will claim it is "the law" and have threatened and denied based on this.  Some of the intensely dislike farangs who "stick around" in Thailand. 

I agree with earlier posters that time out of country will help your case, and denial of entry is unlikely.  But, being paranoid about such things - and definitely not wanting to be put in detention and the next flight all the way back, even if unlikely - I would fly to Penang and enter by land.