Kitchen sink, s-trap, air admittance valve?

OneMoreFarang

The drain below my kitchen sink is in the floor. This is in a condominium building.

I have no experience with such things, but I thought there needs to be a S-trap installed, and that's it.

Now I looked up that subject and it seems it's not so easy.

I read this article which explains why a S-trap is a bad idea.

Why S-traps are Illegal - And What to Do About them - Plumbing Sniper

They also mention an "air admittance valve" in that article. I can't find anything with that name at HomePro or Lazada.

What's the name of these things in Thailand? And are they commonly installed.

I guess this is what I need:

Sink.png.7f7e84321374ae998b7699709338f973.png

The good news is that even with an open pipe (now, before the installation) there is no smell.

I plan to ask a Thai plumber. But I like to know the "correct" way to do this before I ask him...

7 minutes ago, OneMoreFarang said:

The drain below my kitchen sink is in the floor. This is in a condominium building.

I have no experience with such things, but I thought there needs to be a S-trap installed, and that's it.

They also mention an "air admittance valve" in that article. I can't find anything with that name at HomePro or Lazada.

The good news is that even with an open pipe (now, before the installation) there is no smell.

I plan to ask a Thai plumber. But I like to know the "correct" way to do this before I ask him...

You can use a scew on canister catch thing, does it job, you can empty it, no smells.......

44 P Trap Sink Trap Images, Stock Photos & Vectors | Shutterstock

3 hours ago, transam said:

You can use a scew on canister catch thing, does it job, you can empty it, no smells.......

44 P Trap Sink Trap Images, Stock Photos & Vectors | Shutterstock

I believe those are called D-traps in the states. They are not legal there either. I have one under my bath room sink. They work well, just remember to clean them from time to time.