Advice needed for 1 week in Chiang Mai

NHBOB

Hi all,

I'm planning on spending a week in Chaing Mai to get a feel for the place to see if I could retire there.  I'm looking at lodging options now, but I'm wondering if I should stay in on central hotel or move around the greater Chiang Mai area a bit and spend a day or 2 here and there?  Transportation might be an issue too, I have ZERO motorcyle experience and have no intention of learning how to drive one in Thailand.  I'm an experienced cyclist and might rent a mt. bike.  Or I'm even thinking of renting a car, I think I could handle driving on the opposite side of the road (at least outside of the city center--from Ytube videos parking looks like a pain in the a**)  

• Like 2

5 hours ago, NHBOB said:

to get a feel for the place to see if I could retire there. 

This is a big ask?

Why Chiang Mai?

What do you want to do in retirement?

-Golf

-Model railway

-RC Aircraft

-Skydiving

-Obviously?

not riding a motorcycle

Chiang Mai is just another big Thai city.  

1 hour ago, Bill97 said:

A week is not enough

What he said?  A week is not enough to make a decision about the rest of your life.

Himku Hotel is pleasant. In the old part of town, you can walk to places for B/fast/lunch/dinner and for a few beers near the boxing stadium.

Moving around and spending two days here and there is an excellent idea.

If you've never driven on the left and never driven in Thailand, don't start to learn now or you'll end up in hospital!

The old town is nice to visit but few retirees live there, everyone else lives out of the city center. What is your accommodation budget (when retired) because that will help better understand your choices?

Also, as others have said, you're coming here during the best season of the year, the air is clean, the temperatures are not hot, a visit for one week only is going to give you a very distorted view.

Edited by Mike Lister
  • Like 1