Electric Water Heater

CapraIbex

This is my first time spending the Christmas/New Year holidays in Buri Ram, and oh boy, it's freezing up here. My existing water heater at 3.5KW just doesn't cut it; the shower is awfully frigid, even turning down the water supply to a trickle. I require a powerful electric water heater with a decent flow of hot water to suit a Mitsubishi water pump model EP-255R.

Would an 8KW unit (MEX, Panasonic or Stiebel Eltron) be sufficient, or should I aim for a higher wattage?

I would think a 6 or 8kW would suit most but ...

You may (almost certainly) need to upgrade your wiring to suit the larger heater.

EDIT If you really want skin-removal hot then consider an LPG heater but they do need to be installed correctly to avoid danger from carbon monoxide!

8k should be more than enough, and I had the Stieibel brand at our house in Udon Thani.  It was fine, even on those 10C days, though might have slowed the water flow a bit.   Ours did the whole house, and was more than a few meter (up to 10m) from outlets.  Mounted on outside wall, between pump and main bedroom.   Other bedroom at other end of 20m long house.

When not chilly out, be careful as you could easily brew a cup of tea.  All faucets had ability to mix hot/cold water.  Good brand and lived in house for about 6 yrs, no issues.

Had 2 Mazumas, elsewhere, and both were junk.  One dangerously so.

Edited by KhunLA

42 minutes ago, VocalNeal said:

I believe 6kW will do it. 8 would be better as you can always turn down the heat.

I’m living between Udon and KK and our 6,000W heaters can give you a warm trickle, so absolutely don’t  waste money on a 6,000 and an 8,000 may be enough if you don’t want a very strong shower at 42C. You are likely to manage a normal power shower at 37C

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Crossy said:

You may (almost certainly) need to upgrade your wiring to suit the larger heater.