General Aviation In Cm?

lukeskywalker

Hello,

I am a certified private pilot and will be living in CM for about a year, and I am interested to find out if general aviation exists there.

If so, is it difficult to get my license converted over to a Thai license? Is it expensive?

Also, what about the per hour rates for C-152s and C-172s? In the States, it is about 2,500 baht an hour.

Thanks

Look at lannaflyingclub.com and thaiflyingclub.com. You can get your license validated through the clubs fairly easily, but you must pass a written test to fly in Thailand as of this year. Renting a plane is a bit more expensive here.

I don't mind taking any tests, what pilot would or should? Do I need my actual paper license card from the FAA?

Why is flying here more expensive? From the prices I see on the websites you recommend, the prices look almost to be double what the prices are in the States. Why?

Because you are in Thailand

I don't mind taking any tests, what pilot would or should? Do I need my actual paper license card from the FAA?

Why is flying here more expensive? From the prices I see on the websites you recommend, the prices look almost to be double what the prices are in the States. Why?

I don't know with certainty, but I would imagine that the import duty for aeroplanes can be something like that for cars, i.e. 200-300% :o

Until the recent dramatic changes in currency exchange rates, I was contemplating taking up flying again (after a loooong time), but no more :D

/ Priceless

Edited by Priceless

I don't know with certainty, but I would imagine that the import duty for aeroplanes can be something like that for cars, i.e. 200-300% :o

Until the recent dramatic changes in currency exchange rates, I was contemplating taking up flying again (after a loooong time), but no more :D

/ Priceless

It is about the same price as in Europe.

If my information is correct the import duty on an airplane is 0% + 7 % VAT, parts up to 30%?