Applying for Extension of Stay for Purpose of Retirement from ED

This is where I am:

I am in Phuket. I am retired and I am also a student. I am currently going to school as a student. I am coming to the end (30 days from now) of a six month Extension of Stay for the purpose of education. I have a Non-Immigrant ED visa. I could apply for an Extension of Stay for another six months for the purpose of education. That is, I meet all the qualifications for receiving such an extension (documents from my school, etc.).

This is where I would like to be:

I would like to get an Extension of Stay for the purpose of retirement. I meet all the qualifications for receiving such an extension (age, seasoned money in a Thai bank account, etc.), EXCEPT for a requirement of which I was previously unaware. Namely, that I must have a Non-Immigrant O visa, which I do not have. I had thought I could simply apply for an Extension of Stay for the purpose of retirement by virtue of holding a Non-Immigrant ED visa, but was told this is incorrect.

When I attempted to apply for an Extension of Stay for the purpose of retirement, I was told that I do not qualify because I do not have a Non-Immigrant O visa (true, I don't have one, just a Non-Immigrant ED visa). I asked how I could obtain a Non-Immigrant O visa.

It was first suggested that I could obtain a Non-Immigrant O visa by going to the Thai consulate in Ranong. Return to Phuket immigration in 3 months and apply for an Extension of Stay for the purpose of retirement (now being in possession of a Non-Immigrant O visa).

It was then suggested that I could obtain an Extension of Stay for the purpose of retirement by paying 2,000 Baht for a Non-Immigrant O visa in Phuket for 2,000 Baht, and 1,900 Baht for the extension itself, which of course would be preferable as it would avoid the trip to Ranong.