Andaman Club Pier Ranong Asked for Tea Money having NonO Multi

Hey guys,

I just wanted to share the experience I just had to prepare any other fellow travelers. This morning I went to the Andaman club pier to catch the first boat to do a visa run. I have been doing the Ranong visa run for the past 5 years without incident. I have a Multi Non O family visa. The guy told me that I cannot do visa run anymore because I do too much I think. It was a bit hard to understand his english but it seems like he was making excuses. Another american on some other type of visa had no issue at the same time while my guy was explaining that I could not do a visa run. He stated its the law for many years, blah blah blah... as I have been doing this for 5 years this just seemed strange. But the girl in the black tshirt which I think is his assistant pulled me a side and not directly but pretty much told me to put money in my passport as he would accept this time. I was shocked but she said " up to you" as to how much to put in. I just put in 1,000thb and went on my way because I made a whole trip to travel with family and my stamp expired the following day.

I dont know if anyone has had any similar experiences lately or if I was singled out for this because I was early and they thought a lone foreigner at the time was easy to extort but I just wanted to warn you all that this did just happen at this point so be aware. 

Also, if any of you have any advice for the future as this is the first time I had ever been in a position to give tea money. Do I have my wife report this? Anything I should do or just move along. I know this is Thailand and I know this stuff happens but this extortion is so dirty especially since I had a proper family visa.

Cheers!