Put my savings to use

Ok, I have just over 2 million baht in my Kasikorn bank. I also have 28000 sterling in my Uk natwest account. As I understand it, I can not invest on Uk markets as I am no longer tax resident , and I cannot invest on SET through Kasikorn. I believe I can invest through Kasikorn in Mutual funds. If this is the case,would it be beneficial for me to bring my money from the Uk to invest in mutual funds here? Also how easy/hard is it to get the money back out of funds if needed quickly i.e. For my annual visa 800000

I am a complete novice in all of this so any help/advice in this will be much appreciated

Sent from my iPad using Thaivisa Connect

Before you invest in any mutual fund, acquaint yourself with the rules re withdrawal. I used to be invested in a Thai mutual fund company. I was able to do withdrawals with only 2 or 3 days notice. And I did not have a bank account at the bank to which they were affiliated. If I had had one, I think that would have been reduced to 1 to 2 days.

A few questions first, then I'm sure someone more familiar with UK and SET will chime in.

Understand you are on the 800k money in the bank plan for visa extensions.

• Married, kids, mother in law, sick buffaloes, etc?
  • Do you have a source of income for routine living expenses (pension, rentals, etc).
  • ^ If so, any surplus from that or do you use it all every month?

Do you have insurance to cover catastrophic event - car/motorbike accident, medical problem, or are you counting on the liquidity of the 2 million and/or 28k pounds as self-insurance?

• For example, I keep about 2.5m in a Thai bank (presently @ 1.3p/a) for visa extensions and self insurance should life bowl me a googly.

What are your expectations and level of risk you are willing to take on?