CM traffic blitz around moat

wadsy

Yesterday I got stopped by traffic police, assisted by some Australian dude with 'traffic police liason' emblazoned all over him while riding my motorcycle around the moat and was asked to produce my licence. I have a current and motorcycle rated Australian licence and he wanted my IDP as well. I've been coming on and off here for 10 years and have previously researched this and  I told him that according to the Thai Motot Vehicle Act, Thailand accepted other country drivers licences if there was a treaty between the countries and you were a tourist, Australia being one of the countries there is a treaty with. He basically told me I was wrong and the fine was 400 baht, took me over to the Thai checkpoint where I was given a ticket and had to pay. I'm like <deleted>. 

Double checking the relevant part of the Act last night it clearly states as follows:

"Section 42
Anyone who wishes to drive a motor vehicle on public roads must possess an appropriate driver’s license. The driver must carry the driver’s license and a photocopy of the registration book and show them to competent officers upon request. This does not apply for those who are learning to drive a motor vehicle according to the provision of Section 57.

If the driver is an alien who doesn’t have an immigrant visa, he may drive a motor vehicle with a driver’s license specified in the Section 42-2. In such a case, he must carry documents specified by the treaty between the Thai government and the government which issued such driver’s license, and show them to competent officers upon request.

Section 42-2
In case there’s a treaty between the Thai government and a foreign government regarding mutual acceptance of driver’s license, an alien who doesn’t have an immigrant visa may drive a motor vehicle with a driver’s license issued by such a foreign government, OR an automobile association authorized by such a foreign government."