TEFL now needed for a work permit?

Good evening

I wonder if someone can answer my question. I've just finished an interview with a language centre. I am in Bangkok with an extension of stay based on marriage, I have my degree but the language centre informed me I also need a TEFL/TESOL to be able to get a work permit along with my degree now. Is this true or not?

Regards

Depends what website you're reading.  Some (most) say yes/required, other state not the law, but better to have, along with what & where you'll be teaching.

Imm doesn't specifically say it's a requirement.  Obviously if the school states you need one, then you need one to at least, teach there.

"2.4   Non-Immigrant Visa Category “B” (Teaching)  Foreigners who intend to take up employment as school teachers at the levels below university level in Thailand must submit the following required documents:
- Passport or travel document with validity of not less than 6 months
- Completed visa application form
- Recent passport-sized photograph (4 x 6 cm) of the applicant taken within the past 6 months.
- Letter of acceptance from employing institute or school in Thailand.
- Letter of approval from government agencies such as the Office of the Private Education Commission, the Office of the Basic Education Commission.
- Evidence of educational qualification such as diplomas or teaching certificates.
- School license or business registration, list of shareholders and school profile.
- Applicant’s resume.        
- Police certificate verifying that applicant has no criminal record or equivalents or letter issued by authorised agencies in applicant’s country. (The requirement of the submission of such police certificate is optional. The applicant must submit it if consular officer requests he/she to do so. This requirement is effective as from May 2007)"

https://www.mfa.go.th/en/page/non-immigrant-visa-b?menu=5e1ff6f857b01e00a84023d4