Pre-Engineered Roof Truss or Built on Site Welded Steel - Can someone give me some advise.

I am building a bungalow home.  I have come across companies that do pre-engineered roof trusses.  They are slightly less expensive and supposedly go up much faster, and are stronger. 

However, I am a bit concerned since they obviously look at the architect plans and build to that spec.  If the home is actually slightly off, I worry the roof wont fit. 

Here is the checklist that the Truss company gave on the reason for all the advantages. 

Has anyone had experience with the pre-engineered truss roofs and can advise me as to whether they are a good or bad thing.  

I would save about 100,000 to 150,000 baht with the pre-enginnered but supposedly they go up in far less time, which is a huge advantage. 

image.thumb.png.633382e29ee6677059576cefbb22f664.png

I have no direct experience with this. But in general, I would prefer pre-engineered roof trusses. 

I guess they are made somewhere is a factory where it's easy to work (not on a roof).

When the material arrives, you can inspect it and if necessary, complain before they install anything.

Compare that to work on the roof and you can only complain later if they did already bad work on your roof.

Just make sure you have clear conditions with that company like specification which allow i.e. x mm error and not more.

Maybe you know a welder who can judge the quality of the parts.

I would also insist that they measure themselves what they have to do for your roof.

Because if your measurement is wrong or maybe the roof is on one side 10mm longer than on the other side then that is not your problem if they do the measurement.

• Thumbs Up 1

3 hours ago, McTavish said:

SCG supplied our steel trusses, erected on site in a day

With SCG  were your trusses Galvanized Steel?  The quote we had was for galvanized and my understanding is that though it does not rust, it does not have the weight bearing.