Tax certificate from Thai RD

Anyone managed to obtain a tax certificate from Thai RD that they have been a tax resident in Thailand in a given year? I received dividends on German shares and was charged 25% withholding tax instead of 15% and now need to prove that I was a thai tax resident in 2022. This problem arises in a lot of circumstances where one receives dividends from non Thai shares and is charged a higher withholding tax then is stipulated in the DBA. Usually the DBA rate is 15% and more is withheld at source.

IMHO there is a possibilty that this certificate will usually only be issued if you had paid taxes in TH, which I did not. Can someone corroborate? I understand there might be a distinction between certificates one being a tax certificate and the other being a tax resident certificate. To my understanding German IRS should accept both.

I can obviously prove that I have been resident in Thailand for more then 180 days with passport stamps.

Any recommendation on the use of an agency to obtain said tax certificate without having paid income tax. In the past income tax was only levied on income remitted in the same year, which I did not.

I am currently not in Thailand so cannot apply in person.

https://www.rd.go.th/english/21974.html

https://www.rd.go.th/english/21978.html

Thanks!

• Sad 1

4 minutes ago, Sophon said:

A few years ago I received the certificate of tax residency in Thailand every year from the Revenue Department office in Chiang Mai. Like you, I needed the certificate to reclaim tax on dividends in my home country. In Chiang Mai it was an absolute requirement that I had filed a PND90 or PND91 in Thailand for the tax year in question, had I not they would not have issued the certificate. Just having been in Thailand for more than 180 days was not enough.