Proof of income for marriage visa

I'm wondering if the U.S. embassy would give me a proof of income certificate with my type of work. I'm currently in Thailand as a tourist. In the states I work as an independent contractor (online) for a few different companies. Income is sporadic... there's no set amount I make per month. If I can show the embassy that I've had the required income for 3 months in a row, will they give me the proof of income certificate needed for a marriage visa? After that I'll need to show proof of income again after 1 year, correct?

Edited by gray42

You do not have to show the Embassy anything.

You just have to swear on oath your income.

Yes you have to do it every year.

Wow, that's good news. It sounds so unlike Thailand to go off of just your word... smile.png

Some immigration offices require that you provide proof in addition to the letter from your Embassy no matter what country you are from.

Gray42,

You need to have the required income EVERY month, or combo with a lump sum to make up the total.

If you don't, then no, the straight monthly income route is not for you.

To prepare, sign and present a document you know to be false, and look the US Embassy Officer in the eye and say it is true, is illegal. I could go on about cascading impacts, but won't.

Choose wisely.

Gray42,

You need to have the required income EVERY month, or combo with a lump sum to make up the total.

To prepare, sign and present a document you know to be false, and look the US Embassy Officer in the eye and say it is true, is illegal. I could go on about cascading impacts, but won't.

Choose wisely.

You don't need to have income every month, you just need to have an average income of 40,000 baht per month so at least 480,000 baht income for the whole year.

And there is no combo option for extensions based on marriage to a Thai citizen.

Sophon

Gray42,

Choose wisely.