Can any of you guys recommend a farang friendly bank?

Hi, Will be in Bangkok next week and need to open a bank account ASAP.

Looking for a bank that will not only be reasonably to open the account but also have English etc for

internet banking etc. I will be living up country and would prefer to open the account locally for the

benefits that brings but they don't have a clue when dealing with farang.

My girl seems to think Krung Thai or one of the country banks are better for people living in the country

but spoke to a friend and he is very impressed with Bangkok bank. Any help appreciated. The ease of

online banking thing is probably most important to me

I have an O/A retirement visa and a letter from the local Amphur stating they know me, am aware of me

and my fiances relationship and that I am residing in her home.

Edited by Kenny202

Citi, Bangkok Bank and Siam commercial have good online banking systems in English, I have no experience of the others, but see no reason why they should be any different.

It's just finding a branch that will open you an account and give you online banking when you don't have a work permit etc. as with many things here, if at first..... just try another branch.

I've had accounts at different branches of Siam Commercial Bank for 20+ years. Have found that my sorta small local branch provides the best service since I've got to know the people there pretty well. I'd think a local branch would be better than one in Bangkok.

FYI, I also do wire transfers from the U.S. to this SCB local branch, never had a problem.

And, one perhaps big item, the manager of this local branch has a key to the ATMs there so if your card gets eaten by the machine, he can retrieve it.

Mac