Foreigners driving cars around town with their driver’s side window down

Cricky

I don’t understand why foreigners drive around town with their driver’s side window down and their arm hanging out over the door.

By doing so you are putting a target on yourself.

I’ve been driving here since 2002 and I feel this is an accident waiting to happen.

Are these people showing off? Why draw the attention, Thais know they have right of way every time, the police will pay more attention to you.

Grow up people, leave the windows up.

• Replies 286
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I mentioned nothing about smoking.

I hope for your sake you wind the window up when the cigarette is finished,

I wouldn’t like to see you unnecessarily fined or have an unneeded accident because a Thai is looking for a quick buck.

Putting a target on themself?

.... Did you fall off a barstool and smack your head?

... The vast majority of those around us don't care a dash who is on the next car.

Really though... How could you possibly think this makes us a target? & for what? 

Police? They don't care either.. It's only paranoid folk who suspect being targeted when in reality on thr roads we are treated with equal indifference.

But the real question begs to your 'grow up' comment? You some how think it's immature to drive with your window open?

You are thinking just a little too much about the harmless actions of others... Who really cares in the slightest if someone wants to drive with their window open?

As dark as a lot of the windows are tinted, I drive around with my windows down whenever I can, just so I can see better.  In fact, I scraped the tint film off my windshield so I'd be safer at night.  Not to mention anyone on the road in front of me.

I find that I'm much more likely to be waved through a checkpoint for my white skin than targeted at one.

Just now, rickjza said: