Which direction should solar panels face?

My installer told me I had the perfect roof set up for solar.  Planned of course.  3 very slight angled roofs facing E / S / W, so should get excellent exposure all day.  No shading.

Probably put 5 / 6 / 6 panels @ 455w on each, for 8KWS w/10kw ESS.  We use 500-700 PEA units a month now, and don't see us using more than 1000 units with the new house.  Hopefully done before end of February.

• Like 2

4 minutes ago, KhunLA said:

Probably put 5 / 6 / 6 panels @ 455w on each, for 8KWS w/10kw ESS.

I'd probably go 5 / 7 / 5 on three separate MPPT controllers to mitigate shading.

Please try to use correct capitalisation of units, it really does matter. It's 455W panels, 8kWP (if you are talking the panels) and a 10kWh ESS.

28 minutes ago, herfiehandbag said:

PDTIA.

Please don't talk in abbreviations!

☺️

Seriously, I am not very good at electricity (red to red and black to black, switch it on and stand well back is about the norm for me), but at least if you used the full words I might be able to get some sort of a handle on what you're talking about!

If & when you're doing research for a system, most things are going to be acronymed anyway, so best to know & understand.  It can get really confusing, if trying to 'convert' things from kw kwh ah amps, and a few more, which I probably screwed up anyway.

When planning a system, looking at your PEA bill, and units used, is a good guide to start on size of system.  Then consider if having ESS / battery back up for overnight or not so sunny days, then need to know what you'll actually be using.

My system, I'm just concerned about overnight (1 small AC & 2 small frigs) of which, you'll only use about 70% of the ESS anyway, so that has to be factored in.  I'll have PEA for any long stretches of clouds, which will also mean, ACs won't be full on all the time.  Overnight now, and dehumidifier mode is usually enough, if that.