Sourdough

phutoie2

I must point out as far as SD is concerned I am a complete nooby.

Most of my breads so far are low hydration 63-70%.

All done.by hand mixing, shaping etc. I did splash out on a decent Dutch oven, but that's not essential. 

• Like 1

Wish I had the 40 year old starter that my sister has at her house in California.  Wanted to take a small crock back with me when I returned on February 26th, but was afraid it would not make it through the x-rays and customs in the US as well as Korea.....Need to find a sourdough starter kit here, I love to make sourdough bagels as well as pancakes.

Edited by ThailandRyan
  • Like 2

15 minutes ago, ThailandRyan said:

Wish I had the 40 year old starter that my sister has at her house in California.  Wanted to take a small crock back with me when I returned on February 26th, but was afraid it would not make it through the x-rays and customs in the US as well as Korea.....Need to find a sourdough starter kit here, I love to make sourdough bagels as well as pancakes.

I use this website for a lot of baking and curing goods.

https://thaiartisanfoods.com/product/oregon-trail-sourdough-starter/

Edit to add: I just looked at the website for the first time in a long while. Lots of items out of stock. I hope that's just a temporary issue.

Edited by chickenslegs
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

2 minutes ago, phutoie2 said:

I am a youthful 65yo, hopefully my starters can get to 40 years....!

These are my two babies. I learnt that the Americans give them names.

I'll have a think about this....

IMG_20211206_085720.jpg

I like those crocks, you can see the fermentation and the awesome bubbles that give the sourdough its airiness.

40 minutes ago, ThailandRyan said:

.....Need to find a sourdough starter kit here......

I got interested in bread making and sour dough couple years ago.  There are lots of vids on you tube with helpful advice.