apostille and or notary service

Hi there, 

I am a UK teacher at an international school in BKK. I have been offered a job in Mexico City starting July. They have asked that my educational qualifications be "apostille-ised" (similar to notarised as far as I can see) and sent via recorded courier to Mexico. The documents are all issued by UK institutions and I possess the original documents in Thailand. 

My understanding is hazy, at best. I have read that Thai documents cannot be Apostille-ised due to not being a signatory of a Hauge convention. Is this true for UK issued documents as well? If not I can probably find a service easily enough. If it is true for UK (i.e. non Thai docs.) then any suggestions for a work around?

Thanks is advance

V

• Confused 1

Suspect UK Consulate might offer such a service.  US does.  But is the request only asking for your signature to be notarized or the document to be confirmed true?  If the latter expect it must be done by UK in UK.  Sorry but expect someone from UK may be able to provide better help.  If not perhaps call Embassy and see if they can answer (I know Embassy does not have high reputation but if they know they may be willing to provide answer.

Looking at this link a UK document has to be done in Uk.

https://www.reuterssolicitors.com/what-is-an-apostille-and-when-is-it-needed/

Also it does seem to be on the list of services offered by UK embassy, but would be worth contacting them to confirm.

Taken from embassy link below.

“Certified copies of UK birth, death, marriage or degree/educational certificates Thai authorities require documents issued outside of Thailand to be authenticated. The only UK authority permitted to provide this service is the Legalisation Office of the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office.