O, O-A, retirement extension options

I'm a Canadian, and now every year I'm going to spend about 6-7 months in Thailand based in Phuket, and the rest of the year back in Canada.. I've been doing this for shorter periods for several years and have used different visa options in the past, including one retirement extension, double-entry tourist visa with extensions, etc.. I plan to do some traveling out of Thailand during my stay, maybe a few times per year so am considering whether to get an O-A here in Canada, or apply for the retirement extension once I get to Thailand.. I qualify for the retirement extension with an adequate pension. I've read another similar situation in another posting earlier this year and it answered some of my questions but not all.. I like the idea of getting a mutliple entry O-A here before I come there, just not sure how long I could make that last.. I'm assuming that the visa would be good for entry/re-entry up to 1 year after the issuing date, which is likely to be in about 2 weeks - lets say October 21, and my entry date will be November 5.. if my final departure date from Thailand is going to be about May 3, am I correct in assuming that I would have to apply for the 1-year extension prior to that departure, and along with a multiple use re-entry permit, I would be all set for returning again in November of 2015?

To get the O-A here, it's a bit more complicated from what I remember - here are the current document requirements:

2. Documents Required
  • The validity of your passport must not less than 18 months. (Damaged, invalid or altered passports will not be accepted).
  • Three copies of a Visa Application Form with 3 photos (2"X2") passport size and Additional Visa Application Form for Visa O-A. All application forms must be filled out completely with applicant's signature