Looking for a job in Thailand

RyanReid

Hi, 

You probably get a lot of posts like this on here, so if this is in anyway an infringement of any rules, or even etiquette on here, feel free to remove it, or let me know and I will remove it myself.

I will introduce myself to begin with - I have been teaching English for around 2 years, for 18 months on a volunteer basis in my native Scotland, and for the last 6 months I have been living and working in China. I don't have a bachelors degree though, I should get that out there straight away, I feel. I do, however, have plenty of worthwhile experience, and I also have a 140 hour, online TEFL certificate.

I am due to arrive in Bangkok on Wednesday, and whilst I am there I might look for a new job. Is this even possible, given my non eligibility for a work visa. It's not really an issue here in China, although Thailand may well be a different case (I would assume it's much less strict than China though!).

Any advice on whether I can/where I should look for a job would be much appreciated. To be honest, ideally I wouldn't be working in Bangkok, it seems like it could be a little crazy there for me!

Yea, no degree means you are not serious about education.  Kids need a role model, not someone who thinks 140 hours of that crap TESOL is enough.  I've hired about 100 people in my life, and WHY would I choose someone without a degree??  never would, unless maybe I was buying a product they developed.

so maybe create an App for the iphone on how to learn English.

You will end up taking the lowest of the low salary, have visa issues, save zero money, spend all your money, and still not have a degree.

but you can still have a great time in Thailand and maybe take online classes towards your degree.

You can get work, but getting the non-immigrant B visa and a work permit will be more difficult.   You won't be able to get a Teacher's License without a degree, so many avenues of teaching will not be available.