Car got repossessed today, turns out wife took out a loan on it years ago

As another poster already said, do not pay her debt in order just to get her car debt free. Instead get in contact with the loan company. All they want is their money back, so the outstanding amount, plus interest, plus cost of reposession. Usually they have to auction off the cars or do similar procedures.

So offer them all the outstanding amount, incl. cost, to buy the car (in your name) quick. That should work.

• Thumbs Up 1

None of my business, I'm sure.  But I'm curious whether the OP's visa status is based on the marriage to that same woman?

Because I can see that being the next thing that comes out of the blue from nowhere and presents a real unpleasant surprise.

• Like 1

43 minutes ago, chickenslegs said:

I have no experience of repossession, but my thoughts are ...

Presumably, the car is now owned by the loan company.

If the loan company is willing to sell the car to you, maybe it can be registered in your name.

But they may want more than just the amount owing.

This is the best course of action.

• Like 2

Can understand your frustration, but the car has never been yours, legally.

If you pay to get the blue book back, it is still not in your name and not your car, legally.

Hence nothing to stop it happening again or she comes back for her car (assume blue book in her name) and she no longer has any debt.

Sorry write it off, move on and learn.

• Like 1

24 minutes ago, Georgealbert said:

Can understand your frustration, but the car has never been yours, legally.

If you pay to get the blue book back, it is still not in your name and not your car, legally.

Hence nothing to stop it happening again or she comes back for her car (assume blue book in her name) and she no longer has any debt.

Sorry write it off, move on and learn.