Changing Employers - Need A Tourist Visa

I've been working for the same employer in BKK since Nov 2005, with a non-immigrant B visa, extended each year, and a work permit. My 90-day reprting is up to date and I've never missed a report. My contract finishes on 30 November and I will start a new job in BKK on 2 January 2009. I'm taking December off!

My new employer has told me to get a 60-day tourist visa which they will then convert to a non-immigrant B in January (apparently they have connections at Immigration) before sorting out my new WP.

My question is: when I apply for the single entry Tourist Visa (most likely in Vientiene) should I lie and say I'm "on holiday" or can I be truthful and say I'm "in between jobs"? I own a condo here, so presumably will need to give this as my BKK address?

Thanks.

The visa application has a question something like “Reason for the trip?” As you have no valid work permit at the time you apply for the tourist visa, the correct answer to that question is “tourism”. The fact that after entering Thailand with the tourist visa you will apply for a work permit and subsequently a change of visa to non-B is immaterial for the application for the tourist visa.

--

Maestro

Thanks for the advice.

If a chose to get the visa in somewhere other than Vientiane, say Singapore or HK, how would I deal with the requirement to show a ticket out of Thailand? Or is this not a requirement for a single entry tourist visa?

Vientiane doesn't ask for ticket.

Reports for Singapore is that they do want to see a ticket.

One report for HK is that they didn't ask for one. Not many reports on HK so it's hard to say for sure.

No difference between single and double.

You are not going to be working to me that's a holiday. You wouldn't be lying.

Your condo address will be fine. People rent condos for holidays.

In other words don't worry.

Enjoy your holiday.

Joe