When To Retire?

Gweiloman

I know this thread or something similar must have been done to death a thousand times or more so for those of you who are bored with it, feel free to just ignore and move on to the next thread.

However, I would imagine there must be some others like me who are wondering the same. I'm in my early fifties and work for a multinational in a regional role. This means lots and lots of travelling, around the region and globally as well. I would estimate that about 50% of my time is spent on the road, so to say.

I'm fortunate in that I'm entitled to fly business class and stay in 4-5 star hotels, all on company expense. Pretty much all other expenses incurred (transportation, food, drinks and other refreshments) are also taken up by the company so I hardly spend anything while I'm travelling. However, it does get very tiring, especially as I've been doing this for the past 20 years or so. I have a young son, 1 1/2 years old and I would need to seriously consider his schooling options. By all accounts, this would also have to be supplemented by home tutoring which would have to be undertaken by myself.

I have come to a stage whereby I'm seriously considering to retire in the very near future. Financially, I believe that I have sufficient to keep me and my family in our current, not lavish, but comfortable lifestyle. I have no debts, all accommodation and transportation needs are fulfilled by fully paid off assets. The big BUT is that the opportunity cost of giving up a nice salary sounds painful.This is really the only thing that is holding me back.

Just curious to hear what some of you considered when facing the same issue and how you reconciled yourself to no longer earning a paycheck when it is still within your means.

• Like 1