computer won't recognize wireless mouse receiver when placed in USB port

maphraw

My wireless mouse that I have been using for a few years broke when I. dropped it on the floor. Beyond repair it seems. I bought a new one and it doesn't work. I tried microsoft troubleshooting and it indicated that the device might be old. I am afraid that if I buy a new one i will still have the same problem. I can't stand using my computer without the mouse. Maybe a good repairman would know what the problem is. Any suggestions? Thanks.

I had the same problem with a new USB mouse. I simply did a computer re-start with the USB dongle installed and it finally found the right driver. I am running Win 8.1

Also try a different USB port. If you have already tried these solutions with no joy, then I'd try the mouse on another machine and see if it works.

Can't you just plug it into another PC and see if that works?

What do you see when you go to your Device manager???

If you still have the box, or you know the brand, just download the right driver. An update of your Bluetooth might be necessary as well.

As already mentioned, unplug the device, switch the machine off, restart it and plug it in. If the machine doesn't recognize it, see Bluetooth and driver troubleshooting.

But first make sure that the thingy works on another PC. What system are you running? Please try this: ( and make sure there's a battery inside the mouse with at least 1.5 volt)

1. Remove USB receiver and wireless mouse battery for 5 seconds. ...
  2. Go to RUN (Win Logo + R) and type “devmgmt.msc” to open device manager.
  3. Now find Mice and other pointing devices and find your wireless mouse.
  4. Now right click on your wireless mouse and click Scan for hardware changes.

<snip>

Go to RUN (Win Logo + R) and type devmgmt.msc to open device manager.

Now find Mice and other pointing devices and find your wireless mouse.

Now right click on your wireless mouse and click Scan for hardware changes.

<snip>