Using Thai ATM card for cash withdrawal in Europe

Thank you for that. How can you know the exchange rate?  Is it the same exchange rate like the Bangkok Bank rate at this moment in Thailand? Does it show at the receive or at the ATM? Is there are maximum limit?

I have a SCB Debit Card (Mastercard) or so-called "HIP Card" and i have used it in UK, more to test it than anything else. In March this year, an SCB branch in Pattaya informed me that it now costs 220 Baht per transaction outside Thailand.

Not having been to Europe for a few years I went to my Bangkok Bank branch yesterday to ask for a new Union Debit Card that I had assessed as meeting my requirements. They were helpful and told me that quite a few Union card holder had complained about transaction problems when using the card in Europe but it worked fine around the Far East. They said that my Be 1st VISA Debit card was the most reliable method of getting cash from ATMs and paying POS bills.

I asked if I needed to validate it for use in Europe and on checking my record said no, it was already cleared, and I could take up to 50k per day ATM or POS.

The Be 1st Debit Card is 'chipped' which is why I got it many years ago when the Bangkok Bank were the only bank offering chipped cards. Yet, when using it at POS in Thailand I have never been asked to enter my PIN and the cashier never checks the signature. 

Yes,  the same here. 100THB charge plus rate of the day at the Thai end on a Be1st visa debit card. Just know that some banks in europe don't accept it, possibly down to them being a national/regional bank only and not international or internationally affiliated? (UK, Spain, France)

On 6/29/2017 at 8:44 PM, JohnC said:

I use my BBK visa debit card in UK , they charge 100 baht per transaction, exchange rate depends on the market rate on day of withdrawal.

Mine works fine at the local supermarket in Australia :smile: