Advice buying a 2nd hand Ford Laser glx 2002 model.. (Girl newbie here)

Aina24

Dear car enthusiasts,

My friend is selling his Ford Laser glx 2002 model for 50k bht because he is leaving the country on Friday. The original offer was 65k but I managed to convince him to drop the price. It's clocked aprox 215,000kms. He's been driving his family around in it for 6 months with no problems at all, he even goes on long roads trips sometimes.. I understand the car is old, but it sees to run fine and all the electrical components are in great shape. Realistically, for the price and age of the car I'm not expecting much, but what do you think the lifespan of this model would be? Do you think It's even worth buying? What will I need to check before buying? Any constructive advice is much appreciated.

1 hour ago, Kwasaki said:

I would say if you consider him a real friend, if say it was me I wouldn't let you buy the car if it were no good. 

Has he had it serviced since his had the car 

Personally I don't consider it that old and the price seems very reasonable. 

Whatever could go wrong unless you're unlucky won't cost too much. 

Service it at a B.Quick or a Cockpit outlet,  I wouldn't use a Ford dealership unless the one near you has a good reputation. 

Good luck enjoy your wheels. 

hmm, I wouldn't consider this person a 'close' friend more so a mutual colleague that seems trustworthy if that makes sense? I'd be happy to get a solid few years out of the car, which HOPEFULLY only requires little  maintenance and regular service checks. 

That leads me to my next question. What are the things I should look for when checking the car? Engine? Fluid levels? Sounds etc? Told you I'm a real noob lol

16 minutes ago, Aina24 said: