90 Day Reporting

barney2805

Hello I am a relative Newbie and I am in the UK at the moment I have just got my first Non Immigration O, I am single and reading various posts I am unsure if I have to go to the local Immigration Office or a border run for the 90 Day reporting, if someone could put me straight, many thanks for help

Immigration Office in Chiang mai is outside the Airport.... You dont do border runs. Only people on tourist visa do border runs.

Along with reporting to Immigration.. you need the required papers to extend your visa. Whatever paper work you sent in to get your O visa... you'll need a new set when you report.

http://www.thaivisa.com/278.0.html

Edited by Yunnie

Immigration Office in Chiang mai is outside the Airport.... You dont do border runs. Only people on tourist visa do border runs.

Along with reporting to Immigration.. you need the required papers to extend your visa. Whatever paper work you sent in to get your O visa... you'll need a new set when you report.

http://www.thaivisa.com/278.0.html

As Yunnie mentioned, you must have your visa extended first. The link provided has some of the ways to extend a Non-O visa but there are many other ways as well. From what I've seen, most people on Non-O visas extend their visas based on retirement or as a volunteer.

After your visa is extended, you start to do the 90 days checkin. If you have not extended your visa, the 90 day checkin is irrelevant because your visa will expire.

While the above is correct as far as the location of the immigration office, some people on non immigrant visas most certainly do border runs. For example suppose you got a double-entry non immigrant visa. When the first entry is used up, you need to go out of Thailand and cross back in to use the second entry.